Somethin’ is better than Nothin’


Well, my guilt trip worked 😉 I now have enough Fit Tip emails to supply you with fascinating posts for the rest of the week!  I even have a request for another tutorial, so stay tuned…

 

Today’s Fit Tip is all about compromise.  Just because you can’t do a full hour in the gym doesn’t mean you should blow off the idea of a work out!  Something is better than nothing!

 

The lovely Mrs. LC sent me this:

I promise to come up with something(s) better later, but right now a good tip that I keep reminding myself is sometimes you just need to start. Sometimes you’re exhausted, frustrated, or just plain don’t feel like working out…whatever. In those moments, just start by doing something. Do some push ups and crunches in your living room to get you in the right mindset. Tell yourself “I’ll just stay at the gym for 20 minutes and after that if it’s really a terrible workout I can go home”. Usually 20 minutes comes and goes and I’m way into my workout zone by then. However, occasionally there will be times where 20 minutes goes by and I’m just as exhausted as I was before. It’s those moments that I can stop and still be ok with knowing I at least did something.

Basically – something is better than nothing! It doesn’t have to always be an all or nothing mentality!

Great Tip!  The FDA recommends 30-60 minutes of moderate aerobic exercise a day for good  cardiovascular health.  But that doesn’t have to be consecutive minutes!  Short bursts of activity will do the trick, too!  For example:

  • First Thing in the Morning: 100 Jumping Jacks to wake you up
  • Mid Morning: Walk for 10 minutes around the office
  • At Lunch: Another quick walk, 10-20 minutes
  • When you get home: 3 sets of 20 pushups, 3 sets of 50 crunches
  • While Watching TV: Jog in place during every commercial break

The minutes of activity will add up in no time!

I found an article here that I think is very worthwhile!  It goes along with the “something-is-better-than-nothing” theme!  Check it out! Here is a little preview:

“People in today’s society are accustomed to taking pills for a variety of health problems. Think of exercise as your “daily pill” to prevent illness and maintain good fitness.”

 

Leave a Comment:  What do you think…Is something better than nothing??

4 Responses to “Somethin’ is better than Nothin’”

  1. Kristen Says:

    I definitely agree. On days that I don’t feel like working out, I still make sure to walk my dog. A very slow walk can’t really compare with a good run or weight session but an hour stroll beats sitting on the couch any day!

  2. Lindsey (Mrs. LC) Says:

    Loved the article you linked to. And of course I think something is better than nothing. 🙂

    Can’t wait to see the other tips and tutorial!

  3. Kimberly Says:

    I totally agree that something is better than nothing. I am loving now that I have to walk my daughter to school (1/2 mile there & back) so, I get an extra mile of walking in a day just walking her to & from school!

  4. littlemissminny Says:

    I totally agree that sth is better then nothing! I sometimes just jump around doing kicks on my butt or something like that 😀 It pumps my heart rate up, so it’s gotta be good 🙂

Leave a Reply

