Get Outside, and Stay Local


Good Morning Everyone,

 

I’m using my workout tip from yesterday and blogging first thing so I can focus on school work and work work for the rest of the day 🙂

 

My Fit Tip today is inspired by one of my favorite things to do in the Orlando area.  City, County, and State Parks are a great way to get outdoors and get some exercise that doesn’t feel like exercise.  They usually have fun nature trails, hiking, swimming, and more.  One of my favorite state parks from my home town is Wakulla Springs.  So I was thrilled to discover a great substitute while I’m in Orlando. 

De Leon Springs is a beautiful state park about an hour outside of Orlando.  I’ll be honest with you, the first time I went, I went for the all you can eat, whole grain, pancakes for 5 dollars at the Sugar Mill restaurant!  They were awesome, and you can get tons of different toppings from fruit to chocolate chips 🙂  The best part: you get to cook the pancakes on a griddle at your table!

 

Best Pancakes Ever!

Best Pancakes Ever!

 

After stuffing our faces with this:

Mickey Pancake

Mickey Pancake

…we took advantage of the many outdoor activities…

 

We rented a canoe:

 

Safety first...I have my wistle!

Safety first...I have my wistle!

We hiked (accidentally) 6 miles:

 sugar mill 036

We posed for goofy pictures:

 

Yes, Spencer thinks it is perfectly acceptable to wear board shorts with polo shirts :/

Yes, Spencer thinks it is perfectly acceptable to wear board shorts with polo shirts :/

Some things we didn’t do:

  • swim-it was too cold that day, but I’ve been back and gone swimming a different time…it’s cold, but FUN!
  • play beach volleyball-only two people

All in all, it was a great time!!

 

Leave a Comment: What/Where is your favorite state park ever?  Mine is Whiteside Mountain in North Carolina 🙂

5 Responses to “Get Outside, and Stay Local”

  1. Lindsey (Mrs. LC) Says:

    I love state parks! There’s one by us we’re hoping to check out soon (hopefully this weekend if it’s not rainy!) – Devil Milhopper’s Geological State Park. I also love some parks up in NC. Ross and I are hoping to get mountain bikes before the year’s end, and we plan on making it part of vacations and getaways – bringing our bikes to all different parks all over the country! lol obviously a big dream, but we can definitely start small in FL/ the southeastern US. 🙂

  2. Lindsay Says:

    That restaurant looks really cool!

    My favorite state parks are in Michigan. I really can’t pick just one as there are so many beautiful parks there! I haven’t found any parks that compare anywhere else.

  3. Julie @savvyeats Says:

    I just wanted to let you know that I’ve now done push-ups twice this week, thanks to your earlier push-ups post. I’m up to 8 “normal,” 5 “diamond” and 3 triceps push-ups!

  4. foodieinthecity Says:

    I just found your blog from Meghann’s and can’t wait to read up!

    Your Mickey pancake is adorable 🙂

    http://www.foodieinthecity.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

