Kickin’ It Old School


Good AM Ya’ll!  I hope everyone is taking advantage of the last day of the weekend!

Today’s Fit Tipcomes to you courtesy of my good friend, Alison.  Alison is from Jamaica, and she has such a positive, fun loving, outlook on life!  I always try to get Alison to come to my classes at the gym, and one day, she asked me if I wanted to go do a workout with her.  Of course I said yes, and when I asked what we were going to do, I laughed when she told me we were going rollerblading!  I hadn’t been in YEARS, but I went to target, bought some blades, threw on my striped high socks and bright short shorts, and rollerblading we went!  It was hysterical (mostly because my $20 roller blades from Target were so crappy that my legs were DYING the whole time), but it was so much fun!  Now Alison and I roller blade all of the time (Spencer fixed mine so they work better 🙂 ).   It’s a fun “non workout” and apparently, according to online calculators, you can burn around 300 calories an hour!  Not to shabby!

Remember in Elementary School when you would go to Skate Night at the local skating rink?  I bet you didn’t realize it when you were 6, but roller skating can be great exercise!  Spencer and I just moved into a new house, and there is an old school style skating rink right down the road from us, and we are totally going to the Roll Bounce Old Skool night soon!  I can’t wait!

 

Halloween 2 Years Ago...

Halloween 2 Years Ago...

 

 

...I was a 70's roller girl!

...I was a 70's roller girl!

 

 

Leave a Comment:  Do you blade or skate?

6 Responses to “Kickin’ It Old School”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    HA!! So fun 😀

    I used to be a competitive figure skater, so I HAVE to pick skating; although I used to blade for fun too.

  2. Lindsey (Mrs. LC) Says:

    Rollerblading is so fun! Ross I used to go blading all around Lake Baldwin and Blue Jacket park when we lived in Orlando, and had another lake we went to when we lived in Winter Haven/ Lake Wales. Now we just need to find some place here so we can break out our blades again. 🙂

  3. Shari B. (FitFeat) Says:

    LOVE that Halloween costume! Genius! 🙂 I do rollerblade (although I don’t look terribly coordinated while doing it!) But what I wouldn’t give to do some good ol’ rollerskating at a rink! How fun!!!

  4. Marina Says:

    I love roller blading! I have to buy myself some new wheels, because I had these on my roller blades for some time now, and they became unusable 🙂

  5. clubveg Says:

    Awesome tip! I LOVE skating and used to do it with my friends ALLLLL the time. [one was a hockey player… so she basically forced us haha.] We would skate and chat for hours. It was seriously the most fit I’ve ever been in my life. It’s really hard to find people to skate with! [who can keep up, I should say…] I’ve tried to get my BF to do it, but it’s just not his thing. Sometimes I can convince him to bike while I skate, though – so it’s all good.

  6. clubveg Says:

    Oh! I forgot to mention… Chester, my BF’s two year old chocolate lab is SO full of energy and basically tries to sprint during walks. One day I laced up my skates and took him for a run. He pretty much dragged me the first mile or so, but after a while I could skate while he ran and it really wore him out – which is hard to do! haha.

Leave a Reply

