Another Reader Fit Tip!


Happy Saturday! 

What are ya’lls plans for the day?  I just got back from an awesome blogging brunch at First Watch, and I’m headed to the dog park and then to Aiguille later for some rock climbing!

Today’s Fit Tip: I got an email from Shari at FitFeat yesterday about healthy snacks.  It was good timing, too, because yesterday at lunch, Kelly and I were talking about snacks and how we always forget to pack enough of them.  Here is the email I received from Shari:

 

Hi Sarah!

I was getting ready to run some errands and put my Larabar in my purse — then realized that was a FitTip I could email you for your blog!  So here’s my tip (not sure if you are wanting food related ones or not):

 From Shari B. at FitFeat

Always have your own healthy snack with you when you leave the house.  I like to pack a Larabar or a baggie of almonds or pumpkin seeds, as well as a bottle of water when I’m headed out.  I never know when I might get stuck in traffic or have something delay my planned schedule.    

If you don’t have anything with you, and you get over-hungry, chances are it will weaken your resolve and you might reach for the first thing available because you’re starving!  When I go past the point of hungry into “Starvin’ Marvin” mode, my crazy food beast is much harder to tame.  By the time I finally get to eat, I eat too fast, take in more calories than I need, and end up not feeling full as quickly as I would normally so it takes more to fill me up.  Do this too often and it can really throw an obstacle on your course to a fit lifestyle.   

Hope that grad school is going well and that you are enjoying writing your blog!  I enjoy reading it!  Give Sam the puppy a hello from Denver!

Have a great day!

Shari B.

 

What a great tip!  It’s so true, when I am hungry, watch out…I’m a cranky beast!  Spencer always knows when it is time to feed me!  I’m definitely going to start keeping some snacks in my purse/gym bag/desk!

 

Yum...I wish I could keep chocolate covered strawberries in my purse!  They make a great snack!

Yum...I wish I could keep chocolate covered strawberries in my purse! They make a great snack!

Leave a Comment:  What are your favorite types of portable snacks?  Where do you keep them?

4 Responses to “Another Reader Fit Tip!”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    AWESOME tip!! I always have Larabars or Pure bars in my bag 🙂

  2. Lindsey (Mrs. LC) Says:

    haha cute picture! 🙂 I usually have a larabar in my purse – it’s easy, and small enough I can forget about it unless I am hit with the “feed me” monster. 🙂

  3. Nicci@NiftyEats Says:

    I recently started keeping larabars and odwalla bars in my purse too. Stops me from grabbing fast food, b/c when I need a snack and try to stop somewhere, it becomes a meal instead. had to nix that habit fast!

Leave a Reply

