Milestones and Rewards


Two days of posts in a row…I’m on fire 😉

I hope everyone is having a happy hump-day!  It’ll be Friday before you know it!  Any fun things going on this weekend?

 

Today’s Fit Tip is all about rewards!  When you take care of yourself, there are many rewards:

  • you look better
  • you feel better
  • your strong and healthy

Those things are all great, but I’m referring to a different type of reward.  At my job, I perform fitness and lifestyle assessments for college students.  At the end of the assessment, I help the students create a Wellness Plan for themselves.  One of the sections of the plan in “Milestones and Rewards.”  A milestone is a point in which you can measure your progress, and a reward is, well, something nice you can do for yourself if you achieve your goal. 

The other day I had a client who was just not grasping the reward concept.  I explained that a reward should be something positive (i.e. if your goal is to lose weight, your reward probably shouldn’t be pie…) 

When she still couldn’t come up with a reward, I told her:

“Get a big jar…for example, a pickle jar.  Every time you do a workout or eat something healthy or resist a temptation, put a dollar–or even your spare change–in the jar.  Do that every day until you reach your milestone.  Then, if you are where you wanted to be with your goal, take the money from the jar and buy something for yourself.  Get a new shirt or a manicure or a massage!  You deserve it!  Then, set a new goal/milestone for yourself, and repeat the process.”

 

This got me thinking about my upcoming half marathon training.  This is going to be a challenging feat for me, and if I accomplish my goal and finish the race, I want to do something to reward myself!  Here is my list of possible rewards:

  • Mani/Pedi spa day
  • Massage
  • Nice dinner out with Spence (Seasons 52??)
  • Whole Foods Splurge Shopping

 

Leave a Comment:  What do you do to reward yourself for achieving a health or fitness goal?

6 Responses to “Milestones and Rewards”

  1. Shari B. (FitFeat) Says:

    Hi Sarah,

    Great post!

    Wow, we think a LOT alike – you should move to Denver so we hang and take our pups doggie-blading! (OK that sounded kinda stalkerish, huh… sorry!) 🙂 Rewards: It used to be the only way that I could meet my weight loss goals was with something on the line (in the form of reward and/or something to lose.) If I met my goal I got the reward. If I didn’t, not only did I NOT get the reward, but I also had something to lose. Back when the 7th Harry Potter book came out, I remember buying the book and using it as my motivation to meet a goal. I could NOT crack open the book until I met my goal. And I was dying to read it! It worked! When I got a new car a couple of years ago, I set a goal and if I didn’t meet that week’s goal I was going to let my husband take my new car for his commute and I would take my old clunker. The thought of NOT being able to zoom around in my new toy totally propelled me to stay on track!

    Have a great day! I’m really enjoying your blog!

  2. Shari B. (FitFeat) Says:

    Hi Sarah!
    I posted a comment before, but for some reason WP freaked out when I hit the submit button, so it’s floating around out there somewhere. I’ll apologize now in case you get it twice 😉

    Back when the 7th and final Harry Potter book came out, I bought it, but used it as my reward: I could NOT crack open that book until I hit the goal weight I’d been aiming for. It worked great because I was dying to read that book and if I was faced with temptation it was very easy to resist because getting to the book was more important!

    Great post today, loving your new blog!

  3. Kelly Says:

    I would reward myself with an extra treat, such as a special dessert. Or maybe I would splurge a little at WF. 🙂

  4. Nicci@NiftyEats Says:

    I love to reward myself with a pedicure or mani or something new to wear…to show off my hard work! 🙂

  5. Julie @savvyeats Says:

    I’m running my first 5K next week, and as my reward for my first race, I’m getting a new running outfit!

Leave a Reply

