Reach for New Heights


Hello and Happy Sunday!  I hope your day is treating you well 🙂 

Today’s Fit Tip is all about trying new things, things that are fun and exciting, and calling it exercise.  About a year ago, my boyfriend, Spencer, and I were looking for something fun and exciting to do.  I had heard about a rock gym in Longwood, FL, and we decided to give it a shot.  Aiguille is just a warehouse on the outside, but on the inside it is a large gym, its walls lines with rocks and holds, colorful tape, and numbers, of which I didn’t know the meaning.  Once Spencer and I rented our harnesses and shoes, we attended the belay class, and we were on our own to conquer the walls.  And it was a blast!

  Since that first trip, rock climbing has become a sport for Spencer and a hobby for me.  I have learned a lot about the sport, such as:

  • There are 3 types of climbing: Top Rope, Bouldering, and Lead.
  • There is a lot of unique terminology: Dyno, Sent, On Sight…
  • There are many different types of holds: Crimp, Pinch, Jug…
  • The routes are rated on different scales: Top Rope and Lead range from 5-6 (easier) to 5-13 (way hard!); Bouldering routes go from v-0 all the way up (the hardest I’ve seen is a v-8)
  • According to on-line calculators, a person my size can burn from 500-600 calories per hour climbing!
  • Rock climbers are cool, chill people, and it is a very fun and social sport
Top Roping on a 5-8

Top Roping on a 5-8

Spencer Bouldering

Spencer Bouldering

Attempting a 5-11...didn't make it much past that

Attempting a 5-11...didn't make it much past that

Spencer going shirtless..haha

Spencer going shirtless..haha

 

 

The next thing I want to try, trampoline workout classes at Rebounderz!

 

Leave a Comment: What is something unique and fun that you do for exercise?

8 Responses to “Reach for New Heights”

  1. Lindsey (Mrs. LC) Says:

    Rebounderz sounds fun – although I know someone who broke his leg there, so be careful! 🙂

  2. Christina Says:

    This is so cool! I’ve always wanted to go to a climbing gym, but there aren’t many places in this area and it’s a bit pricey for me right now. One day!

    Unique and fun? Sometimes, when I’m feeling like a spunky rebel, I veer off the road whilst running and into the paths I come across that tractors use to go into their cornfields. I run to the end, turn around and run back! A little off-road running never hurt, and I keep off the corn.

  3. littlemissminny Says:

    I love hola hooping 😀 That’s pretty rare to do for a workout, I think. But it’s so much fun 🙂

  4. balancejoyanddelicias Says:

    hey~ just found your blog! Are you climber? I love love indoor climbing but haven’t gone for a year!! 😦

    anyway, it’s a fun workout! 🙂

  5. Unda Presha. « Club Veg Says:

    […] For some more details about rock climbing, visit Sarah’s post here! […]

Leave a Reply

