Hit the Showers


Today’s Fit Tip comes from a wonderful lady…my mother! (See, I NEED you to email me your Fit Tips at FitTipExchange@hotmail.com My Mom can’t come to my rescue every day!)

Mommy and Me!

Mommy and Me!

When I was younger, my mom used to have my sister, Meghan, and me write down our goals for the school year.  Seems normal enough, right?  Well, then my eccentric, type A mom would laminate our goals and hang them in our showers.  That’s right, I spent my youth with my goals, on bright pink paper, hanging in my shower.  My mom rationalized this bizarre act by telling us if we saw our goals every day, we would be more likely to achieve them. 

Well, looking back as an adult, I think my mom’s idea is brilliant!  I mean, you have to shower every day, right?  And even if you’re a shower performer (like me…Baby Got Back is my usual shower song 🙂 ) you can probably spare a few minutes to read over and re-enforce your fitness goals.

So, the challenge for today is:

  • Type or hand write out your fitness goals (on pretty paper is best).
  • Drive to Kinko’s (or any other copy store) and have your goals laminated.
  • Punch two holes on the top, and attach a string.
  • Hang them in shower, and Get Motivated!

I think I will make mine today!  My fitness goals include:

  • Practice more Yoga
  • Decrease my mile time
  • Work in more Strength Training (I’ve been slacking…Heather, don’t be mad at me)
  • Rock Climb more with the BF

Leave a Comment:  What are your Fitness Goals?

8 Responses to “Hit the Showers”

  1. VeggieGirl Says:

    Aww love this – moms are the best! 🙂

    My fitness goals = to actually do LESS!! I’m expending too much energy, and need to work on resting more.

  2. Meg Says:

    This is hilarious! Did you show mom??

  3. Kristen @ Simply Savor Says:

    thanks for commenting on my blog, so glad I found yours! can’t wait to raed more 🙂

    moms can be so motivating. my fitness goal is to DO MORE YOGA! i never feel like its a “real” workout, but my body (and mind!) are always in their best shape when i practice consistently

  4. Christina Says:

    LOL, I was joking around a while ago about how writing down your goals was the first step to success. It definitely helps keep your focus on what you want to achieve. Like they say, out of sight, out of mind.

    Welcome to the blog world =)

  5. littlemissminny Says:

    actually, they are a lot like yours. I want to stop thinking that only cardio workout is great and that I have to burn tons of calories. I have to do more yoga, more strength and flexibility exercises.

  6. Sarah (from See Sarah Eat) Says:

    I would be honored if you included me in your tips (per your comment on my blog). Thanks! 🙂

  7. Elsa Says:

    This is an awesome concept for a blog! Love it!
    Fitness Goals for the rest of 09:
    -run a sub 2 hour 1/2
    -join a yoga studio and add it to my weekly workout schedule
    -build more muscle

Leave a Reply

