Fast Food Nation


Hey Ya’ll!

So, the day I turned in my research paper last week, another one opened :/  And because of my (not regretted) decisions to run a 5k yesterday morning, visit the dog park yesterday afternoon, attend a brewery tour, go out to a delish dinner, and head back to the brewery for live music and shenanigans, today has been declared a “study all day” day.  However, I’m giving my brain a break to talk to you guys about fast food!

 

When I was growing up, my parents were always very healthy eaters.  No junk food, veggies with every meal, dessert once a week (with some exceptions), and definitely NO fast food.  However, when I turned 16, and got a car and the ability to eat lunch off campus, I became a fast food addict.  Looking back, those days of eating were repulsive.  I was legit a 95 lb girl (I’m tall…5’6”) and I would put away a two Big Mac meal with fries and a coke like it was nothing (I played sports and was blessed with my mom’s metabolism).  I even, on many occasions, (hold your gag reflexes) ate 4/5 “5 for $5″ roast beef sandwiches from Arby’s.  Seriously.

 

That being said, I haven’t eaten fast food (with the exception of Chik Fil A once in a blue moon) for years.  However, today, with the stress of studying, I broke down and got a delicious bowl of fried chicken goodness from KFC…

 

SIKE!  Totally kidding…but I did recreate the dish with healthy ingredients and it KICKED ASS!

 

KFC Version:

  • Mashed Potato base
  • Fried Chicken Tenders
  • Corn
  • Gravy
  • Cheddar Cheese 

My Version:

  • Quinoa base
  • Cut up Chik’n Patty
  • Broccoli
  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Ketchup and Hot Sauce

 Directions:

Place premade quinoa (I make extra whenever I cook it for easy meals) and frozen broccoli in a bowl and microwave for 2 minutes.  Add garlic salt, pepper, and hot sauce, stir, and microwave for 1 more minute. 

bowl

In the meantime, cook Chik’n patty in a skillet to get crispy.  Once thawed through, cut into bite sized pieces.  Continue cooking in skillet with more hot sauce. 

 

bowl2

Top quinoa mix with Chik’n, shredded cheddar cheese (I only get full fat cheese…I think lowfat and fat free doesn’t taste good…), and ketchup (I used the Greenwise organic ketchup from Publix).

bowl3

 

Enjoy!

I dined with my owl salt and pepper shakers from Anthro…Love ‘Em!  It was seriously awesome!

After, I enjoyed one of the cookies I made a while back out of the freezer!  So yummy…pb cookies with a Reeces in the middle :)

bowl4

 

**Typing this made me want another cookie…haven’t decided if I’ll have one yet ;)

 

Leave a Comment: Are you a fast foodie?  Have you ever recreated any of your old fast food favorites?

2 Responses to “Fast Food Nation”

  1. Nicci@NIftyEats Says:

    Aww, the fast food. I used to live for fast food back in the day. That’s how I gained so much weight. Now, I make sure I eat before running errands. Plus, if I do eat out I stick to one place per week.

  2. Jul Says:

    What an awesome cookie! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

